Access Keys:

Mitchell House School, Belfast

Primary Curriculum


The Foundation Stage: Years 1 and 2

Key Stage 1: Years 3 and 4

Key Stage 2: Years 5, 6 and 7


The Revised Northern Ireland curriculum

The Northern Ireland curriculum sets out the minimum requirements that should

be taught at each stage. Within these requirements, all schools have a

responsibility to provide a broad and balanced curriculum for all children.

Mitchell House School aims to give every child the opportunity to experience

success in learning and to achieve to the best of his/her ability.


Foundation Stage

Young children come to school from a variety of backgrounds, having had a range

of diverse learning experiences at home and at pre-school education. The

Foundation Stage aims to build on these learning experiences by providing children

with a programme to develop their love of learning. It aims to provide them with

the skills they need in school and beyond. Teachers have flexibility in what they

teach with the interests of the children playing an important role in the curriculum



Areas of Learning at Key Stages 1&2

The curriculum for Key Stage 1 and 2 is set out in six Areas of Learning comprising:

Language & Literacy including Talking and Listening, Reading and Writing.

Mathematics & Numeracy including Processes in Mathematics, Number, Measures, Shape and Space and Handling Data.

The Arts including Art and Design, Music and Drama.

The World Around Us including Interdependence, Place, Movement and Energy and Change Over Time.

Physical Education including Athletics, Dance, Games and Gymnastics.

Religious Education, Religious beliefs, practices and values.

Personal Development & Mutual Understanding including Personal Development and Health, and MutualUnderstanding in the Local and Wider Community.